Vehicle Registration and Renewal
To operate a car or motorcycle legally in New Mexico, you should first register it. The signup should be done in a month after the day of the purchase. Initial registration is always done in person in the MVD. Actually, before heading to the office, it’s recommended to take a look at the requirements.
How to register a New Vehicle?
To register a new car or motorcycle, the applicant should visit the local seat and fill in the application form.
In addition, you must have the following documents with you:
Purchase Agreement, if available
Dealer’s Invoice, if available
MCO (Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin)
Statement of the odometer
Valid auto insurance proof
A letter from your auto insurance company confirming your coverage
Proof of Residency
Identity Verification – No SSN
Take into account that you have to provide the original documents, not the copies. The only exception is the purchase agreement that can be the certified copy approved by the state.
Besides the above-mentioned documents, don’t forget to submit your insurance certificate. You have to also have liability in NM.
After the successful submission, you will get your new New Mexico license plates.
Used Vehicle Registration
You have to visit a Field Office the first time you enlist a used car in your name. At the time of the sale, the seller and buyer must agree on the odometer mileage reading. Drivers in NM are required to have at least liability on their automobiles.
You also need to submit the below-mentioned documents when in MVD:
Provide also the title credential. The Certificate of Title has to be completed on either the front or reverse side and signed by the previous owner. The location of the Assignment of Title section varies depending on the age of the title.
Fees and Applicable Payments
If you want to register your automobile you should make some payments. The amount of your payment is based on the model of your car as well as its weight. The fee is from $27 to $62 for passenger cars. The above-mentioned amount is for the annual registration.
For trucks also the fee is based on the weight and type of the truck. The minimum is 438 and may reach up to $207.
Vehicle Registration Renewal
In NM, you can renew your signup online, in person, or via mail. Each method has its advantages and disadvantages. It’s up to you to choose the most convenient one.
Method 1: Online
For online updates, residents get up to a 5% discount. All you need is to have these papers ready and scanned:
You can pay your renewal fees with a credit card from MasterCard, Visa, American Express, or Discover.
Method 2: Mail the papers
Mail the form you received from the NM headquarters, along with a check for either a one-year or two-year credential, to the local MVD.
Pay and sent the cheques to the local seat. The office doesn’t accept cash or credit card.
Payment cheques and the other papers should be sent to:
PO BOX 25129 Santa Fe
Method 3: In-person
Bring your current certificate to the local branch along with proof of identity and driver’s ID. The local office accepts cash or checks as payment.
Late Registration Renewal
The overall processes should be done at least one month before the due date. If you haven’t managed to undergo the process on time, you need to pay a $10 penalty. It must be done separately from the general cost.
If you don’t manage to update your papers within 31 days, you must pay a penalty equal to 75% of the signup amount. This price is applied to the overall cost.
Whenever you undergo the renewal online, you will receive a 5% discount. However, due to existing contractual requirements with our credit card partner, MVD is required to charge a $1.55 fee.